iTunes (U.S.)
eBay (U.S.)
Glisten Effect
Editorial Reviews
Scoreboard Forum
Viewer Ratings
         1. Gladiator
        2. Batman
       3. Nightmare Before Christmas
      4. Titanic
     5. Justice League
    6. Star Wars: The Last Jedi
   7. Harry Potter: Sorcerer's Stone
  8. Maleficent
 9. Star Wars: The Force Awakens
10. Edward Scissorhands
Home Page
Princess Mononoke
Album Cover Art
1998 TKDA
1999 Milan
Album 2 Cover Art
Composed, Arranged, Performed, and Produced by:
Joe Hisaishi

Lyrics by:
Hayao Miyazaki
Labels Icon
Milan Records (American)
(October 12th, 1999)

TKDA (Japanese)
Availability Icon
Both the TKDA and Milan albums were regular commercial releases.
Also See Icon

Decorative Nonsense
(inverts site colors)

   Availability | Viewer Ratings | Comments | Audio & Track Listings | Notes
Buy it... if you seek a very strong introduction to the work of famed composer Joe Hisaishi or some the best of Japanese film music in general.

Avoid it... if you expect the complexity of the score's action material to rival the beauty of its dramatic melodic passages.
Review Icon
WRITTEN 10/3/99, REVISED 8/14/08
Princess Mononoke/Mononoke Hime: (Joe Hisaishi) Japanese animation took much longer than it should have to penetrate the international theatrical market. When Disney, through Miramax, decided to purchase the distribution rights to famed director Hayao Miyazaki's anime, their first major venture was Princess Mononoke (also known as Mononoke Hime). The film had briefly set Japan's box office records in 1997 (before Titanic shattered the records even there), and it debuted in America in late 1999 to a stellar critical response. It had been dubbed into English with an entirely new vocal cast, which did not effect the production in any adverse way. The film failed, however, to start a tidal wave of similar anime translations to a wider audience. Naturally, the story was aimed at an older audience, exploring topics of "man versus nature" that, in this case, include all the necessary fantasy elements to satisfy older youth while making its statements about conservation. The scope of the film's story is epic, which is all that you really need to know when approaching Joe Hisaishi's music for the Princess Mononoke. The score had been raising eyebrows ever since the film's initial release in Japan, and the media blitz surrounding this music in the United States was just as heavy as that for the film itself. Hisaishi, arguably Japan's foremost composer (having won the country's equivalent of the "Best Score" Academy Award the previous year for another project), already enjoyed a long collaboration with Miyazaki. During the first years of their work together, Hisaishi's music was often darker and more sinister, and after a few lighter efforts in the years just prior to 1997, Princess Mononoke marked Hisaishi's return to his popular and earlier brooding style. Comparisons have been drawn between the music from Princess Mononoke and that of Hisaishi's Nausicaa of the Valley of Wind and Laputa: Castle in the Sky, as well as that of the popular American composers Jerry Goldsmith and James Horner. For the mass majority of American listeners, the history of Hisaishi's career might have seemed distant and irrelevant at the time, and his immense effort for Princess Mononoke was a well-timed introduction.

Ratings Icon
Average: 4.12 Stars
***** 6,906 5 Stars
**** 3,442 4 Stars
*** 1,881 3 Stars
** 756 2 Stars
* 610 1 Stars
  (View results for all titles)

Comments Icon
Read All Start New Thread Search Comments
Good soundtrack.
Theowne - April 7, 2012, at 6:33 a.m.
1 comment  (935 views)
sheet music
dan - July 14, 2006, at 10:37 p.m.
1 comment  (4202 views)
Princess Mononoke(second film should be made)
Sloranyth - February 19, 2006, at 7:03 p.m.
1 comment  (1709 views)
music sheets   Expand >>
Mango - July 24, 2004, at 7:57 p.m.
3 comments  (5872 views)
Newest: October 2, 2005, at 4:16 p.m. by
Caitlin M
Sheet Music of Mononoke
Tony Cheng - May 27, 2004, at 8:55 a.m.
1 comment  (3228 views)
The Tatara women work
Vittorio Robiati - Italy - May 20, 2004, at 12:31 a.m.
1 comment  (2134 views)

Track Listings Icon
Audio Samples   ▼
1998 TKDA Album Tracks   ▼Total Time: 63:12
• 1. Ashitaka Sekki (The Tale of Ashitaka) (1:39)
• 2. Tatari Gami (The Curse God) (3:51)
• 3. Tabidachi, Nishihe (Departure, to the West) (2:33)
• 4. Norowareta Chikara (Cursed Power) (0:36)
• 5. Edo (Impure Land) (3:00)
• 6. Deai (A Meeting) (0:52)
• 7. Kodamatachi (Kodamas) (2:27)
• 8. Kami no Mori (The Forest of God) (0:41)
• 9. Yuugure no Tatara Ba (The Evening at Tatara Place) (0:39)
• 10. Tatari Gami 2 - Ubawareta Yama (The Curse God 2 - Robbed Mountains) (0:57)
• 11. Eboshi Gozen (Lady Eboshi) (2:48)
• 12. Tatara Fumu Onnatachi - Eboshi Tatara Uta (Women Who Push Foot Bellows - Eboshi Tatara Song) (1:29)
• 13. Shyura (Demons) (1:29)
• 14. Higashi kara Kita Shounen (The Boy Who Came from the East) (1:25)
• 15. Requiem (2:21)
• 16. Ikiro (Live) (0:32)
• 17. Shishi Gami no Mori no Futari (Two at the Forest of the Shishi God) (1:29)
• 18. Mononoke Hime - Instrumental Version (2:09)
• 19. Requiem 2 (2:14)
• 20. Mononoke Hime - Vocal Version (3:32)
• 21. Tatakai no Taiko (War Drum) (2:47)
• 22. Tatara Ba Mae no Tatakai (The Fight in front of the Tatara Place) (1:26)
• 23. Norowareta Chikara 2 (Cursed Power 2) (2:30)
• 24. Requiem 3 (0:55)
• 25. Haisou (A Rout) (1:31)
• 26. Tatari Gami 3 (1:15)
• 27. Shi to Sei no Adagio (The Adagio of Death and Life) (2:08)
• 28. Yomi no Sekai (The Underworld) (1:28)
• 29. Yomi no Sekai 2 (The Underworld 2) (1:33)
• 30. Shi to Sei no Adagio 2 (The Adagio of Death and Life 2) (1:07)
• 31. Ashitaka to San (Ashitaka and San) (3:12)
• 32. Mononoke Hime - Vocal Ending (1:23)
• 33. Ashitaka Sekki Ending (The Tale of Ashitaka, Ending) (5:01)
1999 Milan Album Tracks   ▼Total Time: 59:28

Notes Icon
The insert of the Milan release includes lyrics translated into English for the vocal track, but no extra information about the score. The Japanese releases include a plethora of extra material, including a cardboard CD stand, extra artwork, full lyrics, and photos from the recording sessions. Shortly after their release of the score, Milan also pressed a compilation of symphonic suites from this film (re-recorded in Europe).
Copyright © 1999-2020, Filmtracks Publications. All rights reserved.
The reviews and other textual content contained on the site may not be published, broadcast, rewritten
or redistributed without the prior written authority of Christian Clemmensen at Filmtracks Publications. All artwork and sound clips from Princess Mononoke are Copyright © 1999, Milan Records (American), TKDA (Japanese) and cannot be redistributed without the label's expressed written consent. Page created 10/3/99 and last updated 8/14/08.
Reviews Preload Scoreboard decoration Ratings Preload Composers Preload Awards Preload Home Preload Search Preload